The areas or regions of Madagascar

Madagascar - Province -Région - Tribus

The areas or regions of Madagascar

Different communities constitute “the Malagasy”, there are 18 communities, mainly and commonly named “The Tribes” or ethnicities, The definition of “Region” since 2004, tries to reconciliate tribes, cultural and local economy aspects with the geographical areas in order to set territorial cohesion, especially in the policy of decentralization and territorial empowerment. Moreover, from the administrative level, the state representations, of the most direct decentralized communities, are the heads of regions.

The 22 regions are Diana, Sava, Itasy, Analamanga, Vakinankaratra, Bongolava, Sofia, Boeny, Betsiboka, Melaky, Alaotra-Mangoro, Atsinanana, Analanjirofo, Amoron’i Mania, Haute Matsiatra, Vatovavy-Fitovinany, Atsimo-Atsinanana, Ihorombe , Manabe, Atsimo-Andrefana, Androy, Anôsy.

Then, the districts belong to the regions. The districts are the administrative subdivisions of the 22 regions.

Visit Madagascar with us, Magma |Car Rental Madagascar ! Contact us